Get in Touch with the IOBSA: +2711 268-0669

Notice of the 116th Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Bankers in South Africa (NPC)

Please click here to Register for the IOBSA AGM

Notice is hereby given of the 116th Annual General Meeting of The Institute of Bankers in South Africa NPC (a non-profit company registered in terms of the Companies Act No. 71 of 2008 as amended (“Companies Act”)), registration number 2002/011503/08, to be held by way of electronic platform on 08 July 2020 at 17h30. 

This notice of the Annual General Meeting (“AGM”) is being distributed by electronic mail to all subscription-paying members of The Institute of Bankers in South Africa (“IOBSA”), as at record date (which is 12 June 2020). 

The IOBSA shall provide its subscription-paying members as at the record date, who have registered through the IOBSA’s website to attend the AGM by the deadline date and whose registration has been verified, with access to the electronic meeting platform. 

The IOBSA reserves the right to verify the identity of all persons registering to attend the AGM.  Registration to attend the AGM closes at 9h00 on Monday 6 July 2020.


  1. Presentation of the annual financial statements to receive the auditor’s report and the audited annual financial statements for the year-ended 31 December 2019
  2. Chairman’s and CEO’s Report To receive the Chairman’s report. To receive the report by the CEO of the activities of the IOBSA since the AGM in 2019
  3. Election and Re-Election of Directors


Considering and, if deemed fit, passing, with or without modification, ordinary resolutions 1 to 3 below each of which resolution requires the support of a simple majority of members in attendance (that is, 50% + 1) of the votes exercised by members in respect of each resolution to be adopted. The vote will be taken via proxy voting.

Ordinary resolution number 1: Re-appointment of the external auditor 

Resolved that Beraca Accountants and Auditors Incorporated be and are hereby re-appointed as the auditors of the IOBSA until the conclusion of the next AGM 

Motivation: The Board is satisfied that, in all material respects, Beraca Accountants and Auditors Incorporated is independent of the IOBSA as required by section 90 of the Companies Act.

Ordinary resolution number 2: Election of those members of the Board who are required to be elected in terms of the MOI 

Resolved that 

2.1 Mr J Ncube be and are hereby re-elected as non-executive directors of the IOBSA for the ensuing two years. 

Motivation:  The MOI prescribes that members of the Board shall hold office for two years after which term, they may seek re-election. 

Ordinary resolution number 3: Election of members of the Board 

Resolved that 

3.1 Ms. Trisha Singh 

3.2 Mr. Therence Mokake

3.3 Ms. Lindelani Gumbo

3.4 Mr Fortune Mukuka

3.5 Ms. Bulelwa Makasi be and are hereby elected as non-executive directors of the IOBSA for the ensuing two years. 

Motivation:  The MOI requires that nominations for the election of members of the Board must be in writing, must be signed by not less than five members and by the person so nominated and should reach the CEO or the Chairman of the Board not later than two business days prior to the AGM. 

Any Other Business

To transact such other business as may be transacted at an Annual General Meeting. This includes any matter relating to the IOBSA and provided such is addressed to the CEO and received in writing by no later than 30 June 2020. The communication can be sent via email to: 

Vote by Proxy

Due to Covid-19 and the need for social distancing the IOBSA has moved the AGM to a virtual location. Members are entitled to appoint a proxy to attend, speak and vote on a poll on their behalf. 

Proxy forms are available from the IOBSA office at Completed proxy forms must be forwarded to reach the CEO by 10h00 the 6 July 2020. They are to be sent via email to

‘By order of the Board’ 

Date: 12 June 2020


AGM 2020 Board Nominees Form

Posted in